clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Here’s The 2016 World Cup of Hockey TV Schedule

New, comments

How many games will be on The Ocho?

Hockey: World Cup of Hockey-Team Canada-Practice
Alex Pietrangelo and a Wookie.
Marc DesRosiers-USA TODAY Sports

One perk to the World Cup of Hockey being on ESPN (aside from the return of the iconic NHL on ESPN theme music - hey, remember when ESPN broadcast NHL games?) is that ESPN has about ten different channels to broadcast the games on.

Games will be broadcast on ESPN, ESPN 2, and ESPNews, along with WatchESPN (but you’ll need a cable or satellite log-in for that one). Get ready for a hockey coma this weekend.

The eight teams are broken down into two groups:

Group A

  • Team Canada
  • Team Czech Republic
  • Team Europe
  • Team USA

Group B

  • Team Finland
  • Team North America
  • Team Russia
  • Team Sweden

Here’s how you can watch Vladimir Tarasenko, Patrik Berglund, Colton Parayko, Jay Bouwmeester, Alex Pietrangelo, Jori Lehtera, and Dmitrij Jaskin (and Vladimir Sobotka, if you’re into that sort of thing):

2016 World Cup of Hockey Schedule (all times Central):

Preliminary Round

Saturday, Sept. 17

Team Europe vs. Team USA, 2:30 p.m., (ESPN2)

Team Canada vs. Team Czech Republic, 7 p.m., (ESPNEWS)

Sunday, Sept. 18

Team Russia vs. Team Sweden, 2 p.m., (ESPN)

Team Finland vs. Team North America, 7 p.m., (ESPN2)

Monday, Sept. 19

Team Czech Republic vs. Team Europe, 2 p.m., (ESPN2)

Team North America vs. Team Russia, 7 p.m., (ESPN2)

Tuesday, Sept. 20

Team Finland vs. Team Sweden, 2 p.m., (ESPN)

Team Canada vs. Team USA, 7 p.m., (ESPN)

Wednesday, Sept. 21

Team North America vs. Team Sweden, 2 p.m., (ESPN)

Team Canada vs. Team Europe, 7 p.m., (ESPN2)

Thursday, Sept. 22

Team Finland vs. Team Russia, 2 p.m., (ESPN, SN)

Team Czech Republic vs. Team USA, 7 p.m., (ESPN2, SN)

Semifinals

Saturday, Sept. 24

A1 vs. B2, 6 p.m., (ESPN2)

Sunday, Sept. 25

B1 vs. A2, Noon, (ESPN)

Final (best of three)

Tuesday, Sept. 27

Final Game 1, 7 p.m., (ESPN)

Thursday, Sept. 29

Final Game 2, 7 p.m., (ESPN2)

Saturday, Oct. 1

Final Game 3 (if necessary), 6 p.m., (ESPN2)