clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Vladimir Tarasenko selected for NHL All Star Game

It’s the third year in a row for the Blues’ forward.

2017 Bridgestone NHL Winter Classic - Chicago Blackhawks v St Louis Blues Photo by Dilip Vishwanat/Getty Images

Vladimir Tarasenko’s ready to go Hollywood, a year after he went hockey tonkin’ and whatever you do in Columbus. The Blues’ forward, who has 43 points (good for fourth in the league - with 20 goals and 23 assists) will be joining a pretty decent list of Central Division luminaries.

The Central Division will be captained by P.K. Subban, who is a pleasant change in that he’s not a member of the Chicago Blackhawks. He’s also the only representative from the Predators. Here’s the full list for the Central Division:


Patrick Kane, Chicago Blackhawks

Patrik Laine, Winnipeg Jets

Nathan MacKinnon, Colorado Avalanche

Tyler Seguin, Dallas Stars

Vladimir Tarasenko, St. Louis Blues

Jonathan Toews, Chicago Blackhawks


P.K. Subban, Nashville Predators (C)

Duncan Keith, Chicago Blackhawks

Ryan Suter, Minnesota Wild


Corey Crawford, Chicago Blackhawks

Devan Dubnyk, Minnesota Wild

I’m starting to think Toews just gets named by default, since Artemi Panarin is having a far better season with 17 goals and 24 assists to Toews’ 7 goals and 13 assists. Even Toews himself is questioning his selection. Kane, Crawford (as the only other goalie than Devan Dubnyk not having a crap season) and Keith are all understandable. Toews could’ve been replaced by a representative from any other team in the Central Division. He’s 33rd in the Central in scoring; David Perron has as many points as he does.

Regardless, congrats to Tarasenko and the rest of the Central Division representatives. You can find the full rosters here at