clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Vladimir Tarasenko nominated for Lady Byng Trophy

The Blues’ star is in good company.

Toronto Maple Leafs v St. Louis Blues

I’m sure that other fanbases probably have their sarcastic comments about a member of the St. Louis Blues being nominated for the Lady Byng ready to go. Let’s admit it, though - aside from Ryan Reaves (and Jay Bouwmeester yesterday), the Blues aren’t the rough and penalty prone team that they used to be, and Vladimir Tarasenko has never made being in the box a priority.

Why would he? When he’s on the ice he scores 39 goals in a season.

Vladimir Tarasenko has been nominated for the Lady Byng Trophy this year. The award goes to the player “adjudged to have exhibited the best type of sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct, combined with a high standard of playing ability.” As Greg Wyshynski helpfully pointed out, the PHWA usually gives the award to the player with the most points divided by the fewest penalty minutes, so chances are good that it goes to Flames forward Johnny Gaudreau over Tarasenko and Mikael Granlund of the Wild.

Tarasenko finished the regular season with 39 goals, 36 assists, and a scant 12 penalty minutes.

The Blues who have won the award are Phil Goyette (1969-1970), Brett Hull (1989-1990), and the late Pavol Demitra (1999-2000).