clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

This Week In Blues History: June 10 - June 16

St. Louis Game Time Debuts a New Column: This Week In Blues History

2019 NHL Stanley Cup Final - Game Seven Photo by Bruce Bennett/Getty Images

June 10:

  • The St. Louis Blues named Bob Plager Director Player Development and Joe Micheletti Assistant Coach on June 10, 1987.
  • Dan Kelly inducted into the Missouri Broadcasters Hall of Fame on June 10, 2017.

June 11:

  • Lynn Patrick, the 1st hockey hire of the St. Louis Blues (General Manager and Head Coach) was named to the Hockey Hall of Fame on June 11, 1980.
  • Former St. Louis Blues goalie, Grant Fuhr, and St. Louis born, Pat LaFontaine, elected to the Hockey Hall of Fame on June 11, 2003.
  • Rod Brind’Amour was drafted in the 1st round (9th overall) and Tony Twist selected in the 9th round (177th overall) by the St. Louis Blues on June 11, 1988.

June 12:


  • Ryan O’Reilly became the 1st player to score 5 goals in the Stanley Cup Final since Brad Marchand in 2011. He also became the 1st player to score a goal in 4 straight Stanley Cup Final games since Wayne Gretzky in 1984.
  • Game 7 on June 12, 2019 was the 3rd time (1990 & 2000) a team has won 3 road games in a Stanley Cup Final. It also became the 2nd time (2000) that road teams combined for 5 wins in a Stanley Cup Final.
  • The final St. Louis Blues broadcast aired on KMOX radio on June 12, 2019 after 43 years.
  • St. Louis Blues obtained Jacques Plante from the New York Rangers in the NHL Intra-League Draft on June 12, 1968.

June 13:

  • NHL took control of all assets of the St. Louis Blues and terminated the ownership of Ralston Purina on June 13, 1983.

June 14:

  • St. Louis Blues sent Glen Sather to the Montreal Canadiens on June 14, 1974 to complete an earlier trade that sent Rick Wilson to the Blues.
  • Gerry Melnyk, who was an original member of the St. Louis Blues, passed away on June 14, 2001 with Luekemia. Melnyk was one of 4 people to play for both the Blues & St. Louis Braves.
  • St. Louis Blues selected Scott Campbell 9th overall in the 1st round of the 1977 Draft on June 14, 1977. Campbell did not sign with the Blues and later signed with the WHA.
  • Mike Shanahan was removed as Chairman of the St. Louis Blues by the Kiel Center Partners, and Jack Quinn was elevated to the Blues representative on the NHL Board of Governors on June 14, 1995.

June 15:

  • Mark Hunter traded to the St. Louis Blues by the Montreal Canadiens with Michael Dark in a trade that involved 9 draft picks on June 15, 1985.
  • Wayne Babych (Blues 1st 50 goal scorer) selected by St. Louis Blues 1st round (3rd overall) and signed contract on June 15, 1978.
  • Former St. Louis Blue Joe Mullen selected to the Hockey Hall of Fame on June 15, 2000.
  • Chris Pronger named 1st team All Star, Norris Trophy and Hart trophy winner on June 15, 2000.
  • Pavol Demitra won the Lady Byng on June 15, 2000.
  • Joel Quennville won the Jack Adams on June 15, 2000.
  • Bernie Federko and Tony McKegney traded to the Detroit Red Wings by the St. Louis Blues for Adam Oates and Paul MacLean on June 15, 1989.

June 16:

  • Curtis Joseph signed as an Undrafted Free Agent on June 16, 1989 by the St. Louis Blues.