clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Ryan O’Reilly wins Frank J. Selke Trophy

The award goes to the best defensive forward.

2019 NHL Awards - Arrivals Photo by Bruce Bennett/Getty Images

“This week has been a lot.”

Ryan O’Reilly speaks truth with that statement. A week ago, he won the Conn Smythe trophy as playoff MVP, and the Stanley Cup. This weekend, he was chugging Guinness and Bud Light at the championship parade in downtown St. Louis. Tonight, after a second place finish in Lady Byng voting, the Blues forward was awarded the Frank J. Selke trophy by a decent margin. The Selke goes to outstanding defensive forward, and Ryan O’Reilly was outstandlngly defensive. He finished the year with a +22 rating, and 28 goals, 49 assists for the best season of his career. His face-off win percentage of 56.86, which somehow wasn’t O’Reilly’s career high mark, was seventh in the league; his number of face-off wins (1,086) was tops in the league. ROR is the second Blues player to win the Selke, following in Rick Meagher’s footsteps.

The Blues were shut out of the other awards that they were nominated for tonight, but there was lots of recognition for the Stanley Cup Champions.