clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Blues release protected list for 2021 NHL expansion draft

There aren’t any surprises here.

St Louis Blues v Los Angeles Kings Photo by Harry How/Getty Images

The Seattle Kraken’s expansion draft isn’t until Wednesday night, but fans of the league’s teams are learning this morning who on their teams are off-limits. The Blues have released their protected list:


  • Ivan Barbashev
  • Jordan Kyrou
  • Ryan O’Reilly
  • David Perron
  • Brayden Schenn
  • Oskar Sundqvist
  • Robert Thomas


  • Justin Faulk
  • Torey Krug
  • Colton Parayko


  • Jordan Binnington

Players who have two years are less league experience did not have to be protected, which means that Klim Kostin and Dakota Joshua, among others, are safe. Players not safe are as follows:

Forwards: Sam Anas, Sammy Blais, Tyler Bozak, Kyle Clifford, Tanner Kaspick, Mike Hoffman, Mackenzie MacEachern, Curtis McKenzie, Austin Poganski, Zach Sanford, Jaden Schwartz, Nolan Stevens, Vladimir Tarasenko, and Nathan Walker

Defense: Robert Bortuzzo, Vince Dunn, Niko Mikkola, Mitch Reinke, Steven Santini, Marco Scandella, and Jake Walman

Goalies: Evan Fitzpatrick, Ville Husso, Jon Gillies

Mike Hoffman, Jaden Schwartz, and Tyler Bozak are all pending UFAs and currently the Kraken can talk with their agents about terms, if desired. If the Kraken sign any of the three - and they’re able to sign to an eight-year deal if they do - then that counts as their Blues selection for the draft. Basically, the Blues lose a player that they may have wanted to lose regardless, while protecting everyone else, thereby minimizing the impact of the draft.

As expected, Vladimir Tarasenko has been left unprotected in the draft, as has pending RFA Vince Dunn.